Somatic Glow Up

Understanding Mind, Body Connection

The reality is… we don’t need another blog post about self care. This ain’t even that! This, my beautiful readers, is an exploration of what it will look and and feel like to use Somatic Therapies to heal your own traumas. Somatic therapy uses mind-body techniques to help release stress, trauma, and tension that has become “locked away” in the body. In this article we will discuss nervous systems, healing, and reconstructive therapies rooted in mind-body connections that can occur in your daily life.

Are you stuck in fight or flight?

The idea that when humans experience trauma, they can get stuck in the “freeze” mode of the fight, flight, was a theory called Somatic Experiencing developed in the 1970’s by Dr Peter Levine. Remaining “frozen” causes the negative energy to stay in the body, which can lead to physical and mental problems. I would even argue that trauma stuck in the body can lead to metaphysical issues of the soul and an inability to connect with your own body.

This disconnect is something that I often see in new clients of There She Glows before we begin our Somatic Skincare Services together. An example is how long or how many sessions it takes for my client to take a deep breath or relax their muscles during a facial. Some never do… Is it possible that they are stuck or frozen in fight or flight. This is where I had to get creative as a wellness practitioner.

Somatic Skincare by There She GlowsSomatic Skit Care Kit

The combining of music and movement has been an effective way to heal your nervous system since the early days of physiology. Increasing your levels: dopamine, serotonin, oxytocin, endorphins, can take you out of survival mode or your sympathetic nervous system and into your “rest & digest” or your parasympathetic nervous system. Washing your face, along with hearing the somatic messages daily, has the capability of reprograming your mind, heart, and most importantly… your nervous system.

Somatic Skincare was something that I believe my late grandmother left me with to share with you. Connecting my body back to my heart became my main concern. So many companies talk about self care but rarely tell you exactly how to do it. Especially how to take care of yourself in your most darkest times.

Somatic Skincare HEALS

The idea is that people can find healing for both chronic pain and metaphysical health conditions through intentional movements that connect their mind-body pathways. Somatics is used to find healing and relief for stress, pain, trauma, and much more. When combined with a normally mundane activity that we do everyday such as washing our faces, healing can be accelerated and much more sustainable.

Exhibit A: I was depressed here. You can see it (in my somatics). They say, a picture is worth a thousand words… I was heavily drinking and smoking here and really didn’t have the emotional capacity for self care. My habits, my relationships, my frequented spaces… were vibrationally low. I was a shell of person and on top of it all I was grieving my grandmother, who passed away in January of 2022.

Cream Black Minimalist Modern Professional Photography Online Portfolio (4)

Exhibit B: I started becoming an essentialist here aand leaning into a more creavtivley softer life.  I started to spend a few hours each day composing music and performing it live on the weekdays at local open mics as a way to honor my musically gifted grandmother. I started to only answer to my highest self and callings by connecting my skincare to my somatics daily with intentional self care. I stopped drinking hard alcohol, and during the weekdays all together. I started doing the things that scared me in a good way and creating stronger boundaries to protect this new version of me…

Was I perfect?? hell no!

Did I back slide… yeah buddy!

But I didn’t give up on me though, thats the most important takeaway here. Do not give up.

Black Purple Guided Meditation Mindfulness Relaxing Video (1920 x 1080 px)

Exhibit C: I am about 2 years in the cocoon. And it feels great. At first you might get a little scared because you have to be alone more often than you may be used to. I did not struggle here much because I love to cocoon for creative inspiration. There really is nothing like good ole isolation for an artist, it helps us tap into our creativity! What you see in totality here is, I have been faithfully high maintenance with myself and better with my boundaries. Showing up as my highest self means having routines and healthy habits. I deserve this and so do you!

Black Purple Guided Meditation Mindfulness Relaxing Video (1920 x 1080 px) (1)

Glow up using Somatics

Leave a comment

Search